Aarhus University Seal

About Natural Sciences

The Faculty of Natural Sciences is Aarhus University's natural sciences faculty and encompasses the fields of biology, physics and astronomy, chemistry, geology, mathematics, computer science, molecular biology and nanoscience.

The faculty comprises seven departments and a department-like centre, a graduate school, and a number of large and small research centres. In addition, there are a number of interdisciplinary centres and initiatives across the university, especially in collaboration with the Faculty of Technical Sciences.  The faculty was established on 1 January 2020 following division of the former Faculty of Science. The Faculty of Natural Sciences has approx. 3,300 students and 1,400 employees.

We reach out to society

Through research, education and collaboration with external partners, we help solve societal challenges, with particular focus on forging a sustainable future.

We see it as our task to deliver knowledge to society through collaboration with the business community and schools, and by communicating scientific knowledge to the public through the media, lectures, events, and through our museums.

International students and staff

Are you considering studying or applying for a job at Aarhus University? Read about international admissions, degree programmes and way of life in Aarhus at international.au.dk